Cats on Stamps


Articles in Feline Philately are written by
Patrick Roberts

Copyright © 2003-16 Purr 'n' Fur UK

Certain features on these pages use JavaScript


[ Home | Philately index | Famous | Featuring | Fans | Fabled | Folios | Fun | Fragments | Flotsam ]



From the Archive:

January 2015 Review


Left-click thumbnails for an enlargement (JavaScript should be enabled)

Quite a short review this time, as not many domestic-cat stamps — apart from the inevitable African ones of dubious provenance — have come to my attention.

Japanese Bobtail from Niger cats set, June 2014 Cats with a Chessboard (Agnes Augusta Talboya), Togo, June 2014 I guess the first ones mentioned here could fall into that 'dubious' category, but I did buy a couple of sets, both dating from June 2014. One is a 'standard' sheetlet of four portraits of named breeds plus a miniature sheet (MS) from Niger; we picture a Japanese Bobtail from the sheetlet, while the MS has a blue Persian. The other set, from Togo, is a bit more unusual with the four stamps + MS depicting paintings of chess. One of the stamps has 'Cats with a Chessboard' by Agnes Augusta Talboya (1863-1941). She was a British artist who specialised in paintings with cats, and this isnít the only one that has felines on a chessboard.

MS for Mothers' Day from Turkey includes a cat, April 2014 Farm cat from Sierra Leone set of farm animals, 2014 Turkey issued an MS for Mothers' Day in April 2014; it features a composite border made up of animal images, with a heart at the centre, and one of the images is of a tabby cat. Late in 2014, although I don't know just when, Sierra Leone produced a set of stamps showing various farm animals; this is quite a big set consisting of ten stamps in four sheetlets, each with two or three stamps in an overall design. One of the stamps has a large tabby cat, presumably the farm cat!

MS of British shorthair from Maldives cats set, 2014 It's quite a while since the Maldives issued any cat stamps, the last I know of being in 2000. Now there is a new sheetlet of four + an MS of named breeds; I don't know the issue date but I think it's in 2014. We picture the MS, which has a British Blue shorthair on the stamp and a fine-looking tabby in the margin.

Making biscuits with feline help, Pro Juventute, Switzerland, November 2014 150 years of Czech fire service, March 2014 Switzerland's annual Pro Juventute semi-postal stamps for youth funds — issued every year since 1913 — show some youthful activities on the three 2014 stamps, which are self-adhesive. One of the two 100 + 50 values shows biscuit making, with a tiny tabby cat in one corner taking an interest in the proceedings. In March 2014 the Czech Republic commemorated 150 years of the Czech firefighting service with a single cartoon-type stamp picturing firemen on an old-style fire engine, with a cat sitting on the bonnet (hood).

Cheshire cat from GB Alice in Wonderland set, January 2015 Lastly, in early January 2015 Great Britain produced a colourful set of 10 stamps to commemorate the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, written in 1865. One of the 81p values depicts a rather fine version of the grinning Cheshire Cat — the first domestic-cat stamp of 2015.

A little belatedly, a happy New Year to everyone!

      



If you'd like to comment, provide additional information,
or bring any cat stamps to my attention,
please contact me,

Return to
Feline Philately index
for more reviews of recent and past issues of cat stamps
from our archives

Other sections:
Famous Felines
Featuring Felines
Fans of Felines
Fabled Felines
Feline Folios
Feline Fun
Feline Fragments
Feline Flotsam

or visit the Purr 'n' Fur home page



Our featured feline Chico (see head of the page) belonged to a lady in the Swiss village of Chesières who lived near the ground-floor office where I worked in the mid-1980s. Every so often he liked to pass by, spend a little time with us and check we were doing everything properly.


Copyright © Patrick Roberts & Purr 'n' Fur UK 2003-16
All rights reserved
Images and content (whether original or used at Purr 'n' Fur with permission) may NOT be reproduced
at another website or otherwise copied or used without prior permission.
Direct linking (hotlinking) to ANY images on this site is strictly forbidden.
If you want something, !
Page created January 2015